Diversity Council

This Council has been created by the Deans of Diversity to provide support and insight as we strive to make diversity permeate every aspect of our institution by fostering an inclusive environment for all of our students, faculty and staff.

 Council members affect significant positive change at our institution. They serve as a representative for their respective group by relaying concerns or issues surrounding diversity and inclusion. Additionally, the Council will coordinate the formal provision of a periodic climate survey. This survey will serve as an ongoing way to evaluate the effectiveness of activities to achieve our mission- appropriate diversity outcomes; and also may spark ideas for new initiatives.

Furthermore, the Council will act as a liaison to the Senior Dean of Academic Affairs and provide support for the academic and clinical learning environment for all students.

Finally, Council members are invited to an Annual Diversity Retreat where they look back at our institution wide accomplishments from the past year as well as identify areas of concern and how we can improve in the future. We will update old and create new  goals, measurable objectives and tactical strategies.

New members are invited by the Deans of Diversity in the Spring of every year. They are inducted and oriented at the Annual Diversity Retreat. If you would like to be a part of this group contact Drs. Walker or Reddick.

The Diversity Council leadership consists of the dean of the medical school, the campus deans, and the deans of diversity.

The overall membership can include but will not be limited to:at least one student representative from the basic sciences years for each campus, one student representative from the clinical years for each campus, one basic science faculty member from each campus, one clinical faculty member from each campus, and one non-faculty staff member.

Council meetings will occur quarterly on the 4th Monday of every third month. Check the canvas calendar for the date and time of the next scheduled meeting!


 Current Members of the Diversity Council 

Claudia Alvarado, MS2
Marshall Angle, Ph.D.
Vibhuti Ansar, M.D.
David Baxter, M.D.
William Bina, M.D.
Susan D. Cline, Ph.D.
Manuel Coutinho, MS3
Marie Dent, Ph.D.
Dontre Douse, MS2
LaTishia W. Fountain
Ronald E. Garner, Ph.D.
Ayana Graham, MS2
LaQuanta Hamilton
Alice House, M.D.
Sang Lee MS3
Steve Livingston, Ph.D., LMFT
David E. Mathis, M.D.
Richard O. McCann, Ph.D.
Eric K. Shaw, Ph.D.
Jean R. Sumner, M.D.
Bowden Templeton, Ph.D., LMFT
Jacob C. Warren, Ph.D.