Diversity in Medicine Interest Group

The Diversity in Medicine Interest Group was created to be an umbrella organization for all of our
student groups that have a focus on issues related to diversity

Gender and Sexualities Alliance

President: Sarah Telliard  sarahstell24@gmail.com 
Vice-President: Miles Wei  wei_mc@med.mercer.edu

The Genders and Sexualities Alliance (GSA, formerly Gay-Straight Alliance) at MUSM on the Macon Campus seeks to provide a positive and supportive environment to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and questioning (LGBTQ) community and their allies at Mercer’s health professional schools. To that end, the group organizes events such as dinner speaker series, educational films and activities, and social events of interest to promote awareness about LGBTQ issues.

Additionally, the Gender and Sexualities Alliance is actively involved in reforming the medical curriculum to equip future medical health leaders with knowledge, experience, and understanding to be advocates for LGBTQ health equality.

Student National Medical Association (SNMA)

Student National Medical Association (SNMA) is committed to supporting current and future
underrepresented minority medical students, addressing the needs of underserved
communities, and increasing the number of clinically excellent, culturally competent and socially conscious physicians.

Our local SNMA chapter will implement programs and activities in Macon, GA. The goals of these projects are to integrate the mission statement of serving the needs of minority and underserved communities. Our projects will also target health care disparities in the area.

The national goals of SNMA are:

  • To serve as a credible and accurate source of information relevant to minority issues in the field of medical education

  • To encourage and foster the development of minority faculty in order to increase the presence of minority mentors and biomedical researchers in academic health centers

  • To evaluate and cultivate the necessary measures to eradicate practices in the field of health profession education that compromises the goal of providing quality education to minorities and women

 

President: Ayana Graham Ayana.Nikita.Graham@live.mercer.edu
Vice President: Vivian Vu Vivan.Vu@live.mercer.edu
Secretary: Julia Chong Julia.Eunjoo.Chong@live.mercer.edu
Treasurer: Rena Ow Rena.Ow@live.mercer.edu
Community Service Co-Chair: Arshiya Mujawar Arshiya.N.Mujawar@live.mercer.edu
Community Service Co-Chair: Patrick McAlpin Patrick.Shane.McAlpin@live.mercer.edu
MAPS Liason: Alisha Arora Aakriti.Alisha.Arora@live.mercer.edu

Women in Medicine

The chapter of the Amercian Medical Women's Association (AMWA) at MUSM hopes to celebrate and influence the lives of women in medicine. The goal of the Mercer chapter is to promote and empower women to pursue careers in medicine, as well as improve women’s health overall. We believe that women face unique challenges when pursuing careers in medicine and can offer alternative views to healthcare. While the main focus is to promote women in the medical field, the group is open to anyone who would like to promote the goals of our chapter.

For more information about the American Medical Women's Association (AMWA) see below or visit their website at: https://www.amwa-doc.org/

Macon Campus

Co-President: Vivian Vu Vivian.Vu@live.mercer.edu
Co-President: Sara Wetzstein  Sara.Ann.Wetzstein@live.mercer.edu
Co-Vice President: Agreen Hadadi  Agreen.Hadadi@live.mercer.edu
Co-Vice President: Arshiya Mujawar  Arshiya.N.Mujawar@live.mercer.edu
Secretary: Kayla Patel    Kayla.Patel@live.mercer.edu
Treasurer: Farina Shafqat  Farina.Shafqat@live.mercer.edu

 Savannah Campus

President: Tara Keil tarackeil@gmail.com 
Vice President: Leah Gober  leah.m.gober@gmail.com
Secretary: Teresa Fowler Teresa.Fowler@live.mercer.edu