Dean's Research Advisory Council

The Dean’s Research Advisory Council advises the Dean on the development, implementation and evaluation of initiatives, policies and procedures to improve the research environment and overall research productivity within the School of Medicine. Composed of a standing membership of the research leadership of the School, the Council meets monthly to identify and address barriers to research productivity and to develop supporting policies and programs, in addition to developing and implementing long-term initiatives and priorities.

Current membership includes:

  • Dr. K. Bryant Smalley, Associate Dean for Research (Chair)
  • Dr. Wayne Glasgow, Vice Provost for Research
  • Dr. Robert McKallip, Interim Chair of Biomedical Sciences
  • Dr. Brad Lian, Interim Chair of Community Medicine
  • Dr. Jeff Stephens, Chair of Internal Medicine
  • Dr. Jacob Warren, Chair of the Faculty Research Committee and Director of the Center for Rural Health and Health Disparities
  • Melanie Townsend, Director of Finance and Operations
  • Chris Scoggins, Director of Health Policy and Operations, Georgia Rural Health Innovation Center