Academic Departments

Biomedical Sciences

The School of Medicine has embarked on an innovative approach to interdisciplinary medical education and research.  The Department of Biomedical Sciences includes faculty members in a range of basic biomedical science disciplines on both Macon and Savannah campuses that assume major responsibilities in the School’s educational programs and are actively engaged in research and service.

Community Medicine

The Department of Community Medicine serves the School of Medicine as the academic home of the Community Medicine Program, the Community Preceptor Network and the Center for Rural Health and Health Disparities. Located on the Macon and Savannah campuses, the Department of Community Medicine incorporates faculty members representing a number of unique and enriching professional and educational backgrounds, most with duties in both Community Medicine and research collaboration. The department provides rich educational opportunities, cutting-edge research and service learning to those wishing to study population health and contribute to clinical or community-based research and service.

Emergency Medicine

The Emergency Medicine Departments are located on the Macon and Savannah Campuses. The mission is to educate  and prepare proficient, caring physicians who are able to meet the many challenges of emergency medicine.

Family Medicine

The Departments of Family Medicine are located on the Macon, Savannah and Columbus campuses. The departments consist of undergraduate, residency, fellowship and research units that work collaboratively to provide medical students and residents with a broad and intensive experience in primary medical care.  In 2012, MUSM instituted an innovative, three-year accelerated medical school curriculum track that culminates in the M.D. degree and prepares students for early entry into a standard, three-year family medicine residency curriculum in affiliated Family Medicine residency programs at the Savannah or the Macon campus.

Internal Medicine

The Departments of Internal Medicine are located on the Macon and Savannah campuses. The programs focus on providing outstanding training opportunities in Internal Medicine.

Obstetrics and Gynecology

The Obstetrics and Gynecology Programs, located on the Macon and Savannah campuses, offer comprehensive training in obstetrics and gynecology, including all sub-specialties, to rotating medical students and residents.

Pathology and Clinical Sciences Education

The Department of Pathology and Clinical Sciences Education is located at the Macon campus and has a faculty that consist of pathologists who are in active practice at hospitals in the community.


The Departments of Pediatrics, located on the Macon and Savannah campuses, offer a program designed to provide students the experience and clinical skills needed to excel in general pediatrics, consistent with the focus of Mercer University School of Medicine on primary care.  The faculty represent a mix of generalists and specialists to assure a well-balanced program that prepares students for the world of pediatric medicine.

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

The Departments of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences are located on the Macon and Savannah campuses. The mission of the departments is to train medical students and other professionals to serve as primary care physicians and mental health providers in rural and medically underserved areas of Georgia.


The Radiology Program is based on the Savannah campus and blends the best of academic radiology with the practical experience of a private-practice environment with more than 187,500 diagnostic exams performed annually.


The Departments of Surgery, located on the Macon and Savannah campuses, are dedicated to education and patient care in the field of general surgery, with a foundation in evidence-based surgical practice and a spirit of academic excellence.